Strawberry Pie

With strawberry prices so low this season, we had more than our share of them. I bought two flats of them a while back, and while I was trying to come up with things to make, I mentioned a strawberry pie to hubs, and got this strange look back.

“What? You’ve never had a strawberry pie?” I screeched

he shook his head, which was my cue.

“Oh don’t worry. You will.”

Of course, when my Mom made them, she would buy the pre-made glaze for them, and I wasn’t taking my lazy behind to the store, so I just had to look for a recipe with a glaze….

After rifliling through a bunch of duds that used crap like strawberry jello in them (yuck!)… I found one that fit the bill!

I went with my old standby with the crust. Crust used to scare me to death, until I found out you could use a food processor to mix it. All of the sudden, this lazy gal no longer loathed crust making!

I cut into the pie after dinner and slapped on some whipped cream and handed it to hubby. He actually licked the plate! I’d say that was a home run….

Strawberry Pie

  • 4 c. hulled, washed strawberries
  • 3/4 c. water
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 3 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Crush 1 cup of berries in saucepan. Add water and simmer about 3 minutes. Strain juice from cooked berries. Add water if needed to make 1 cup of liquid.

Combine sugar, cornstarch and salt. Slowly add reserved berry juice, stirring until smooth. Bring to boiling, stirring constantly. Cook until thick and clear. Remove from heat and cool slightly.

Arrange remaining 3 cups berries in baked pastry shell. Spoon glaze over the berries, being careful to coat each one. Chill for about 1 hour.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

