Luck O’ The Irish From The Oven!

Savannah is known for its St. Patrick’s Day Celebrations. This year will mark the 186th annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade…the 2nd largest parade in the US. Everyone gets decked out:

We went to Savannah this weekend, because, like locals, you  couldn’t catch us dead out in that mess of green beer and crazies.

It did however, make me want to spread some green early, so these graced my kitchen today…

I tried a new sugar cookie recipe, because I don’t didn’t have a favorite. To me, most are just as the name implies..a cookie that tastes like sugar. Definitely a kid’s cookie, and in all reality, I made these with my toddler in mind.

Let me tell you, these were the richest, most full flavored sugar cookie. Perfect texture – roll them out thin, and you got a delightfully crisp cookie. Roll them out a little thicker and they became a soft, chewy sinful cookie.

My good side briefly invaded the kitchen and was able to finagle a little wheat flour into the dough, but I was able to corral her and toss her out of the room before she realized these guys had two sticks of butter in them. She couldn’t handle the truth!

I’ll defiantly be sticking with this recipe for all my future cutouts.

The icing is the recipe that my mother clipped out of a newspaper when she was newly married and had been using ever since. My Mom & Dad just celebrated their 55th anniversary. I figured, I couldn’t go wrong with it, and I was right.

Sugar Cookie Dough for Cut Outs

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp vanilla

cream together sugar and butter, add egg and vanilla, then add flour 1 cup at a time until mixed thoroughly – do not chill

roll out onto a floured surface and cut out with you choice of cookie cutters

bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes, or until lightly browned at the edges

transfer to cooling racks to be decorated once completely cooled

No Fail Sugar Cookie Icing

  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp shortening
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp light corn syrup
  • 1/4 c. water
  • food coloring and or sprinkles for decorating

cut butter and icing into sugar with a fork, blend with corn syrup and water. It will be a thinner icing, but it spreads well and hardens to where the cookies can be stacked, and will have a nice, shiny gloss.

  • If you want it thicker, add more sugar one tablespoon at a time
  • If you want it thinner, add more corn syrup, one teaspoon at a time

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Luck O’ The Irish From The Oven!”

  1. Tia @ ButtercreamBarbie Says:

    i’ll have to try your icing recipe! v. cute cookies!!!

Leave a Reply

