Pepperoni Pinwheel Rolls

My sister is visiting my parents right now and had brought along some bread that my brother in law gets given to him from a bakery he delivers to.  I wasn’t around when they opened it and was very sad to hear that two of the loaves were pepperoni rolls, and sadder still that they left me not a crumb.

So, I figured…I’ll just make my own! Instead of the loaf like mass that they had, I envisioned these huge pinwheel like rolls that look like a cinnamon roll, yet fool you with its savory goodness…

These went so far beyond my fantasies that I could have melted into a puddle of garlic butter right in the floor. Yes, that good!

And the bread itself?

Once upon a time, in a land far far away, there was a Schlotzky’s  Deli in our town. I looooooved the bread that they used for their sandwiches. The almost lacy texture, yet it was still firm and flavorful…sigh…

But, apparently, the people around here were more attuned to McDonalds, and they sadly went out of business. Creations.

But, I digress. I bit into one of these beauties…and…oh my…there is was! That amazingly lacy, lightly chewy bread that I so lovingly remembered! I just wanted to shout for joy …welcome back, baby! Oh how I’ve missed you!

I am so happy with these that I nearly wanted to devour the entire pan, even before hubby got to see them. I decided to be nice and left enough for dinner just the same. I wanted him to bask in their beauty, too….hope we don’t end up fighting over the last one…..

Pepperoni Pinwheel Rolls

a Dough Puncher Original

Dough:

  • 1 cup warm fat free milk (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 pkg yeast

Filling:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 pkg shredded Italian Blend Cheese
  • 1 pkg pepperoni

Topping:

  • 1/2  c Parmesan Cheese, grated

Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.

Roll dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle. Spread dough with olive oil, then the garlic powder and oregano and sprinkle evenly with shredded cheese. Arrange Pepperoni slices across the dough without leaving any space between them. Roll up dough and cut into 12-16 rolls.

Place rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan. Cover and let rise until nearly doubled, about 30 minutes.  Sprinkle with Parmesan, then bake at 375 for 15-25 minutes, until golden brown.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Pepperoni Pinwheel Rolls”

  1. amanda @ fake ginger Says:

    Yum! They look so good! I make something similar and Spencer’s been begging for them the past few weeks. I’ll have to try yours!

    Our Schlotzky’s closed many years ago too. Then when I moved to Pensacola I was so excited that they still had one but it closed a few months after I got there. 😦

Leave a Reply

