The BEST Cocoa Brownies EVER

I am a self professed chocoholic, and sometimes, you need a quick fix.

I have been on the search for a brownie that can be thrown together on a whim…in other words, with ingredients on hand…and who honestly keeps bittersweet or semi sweet chocolate¬† in hunks up in the cupboard? Now, cocoa, its always hanging out with the baking soda, the baking powder, just whispering through the cupboard door, in its seductive, teasing tone….pick me….use me…stir me in….savor meeee…..

I experienced one of those quick fix moments last week, and went trolling online yet again for a brownie recipe with cocoa to attempt to quell my jonesing. I did not have high hopes – most brownie recipes I have tried have not been brownie-like enough for me. To me, the quintessential brownie has a chewy, dense, fudgy texture, with an ultra thin, crisp skin like crust just protecting the moistness below.

I skeptically took a stab at a recipe I found, tweaking it as I usually do. I cut into them, and as I felt the knife slide through batch, I must admit, I began getting excited. When I sunk my sweet tooth into one, it screamed a nearly orgasmic shriek.

Just perfect.

Just the way I like em! I have made them twice already, and made them slightly different each time, and each time they were fantastic.

The first, I used 1/2 cup of dark cocoa, which I actually prefer, and this time, I had regular dutch processed cocoa (which is what shows up in the cupboard when Wal Mart is your shopping venue), and I used 3/4 cup of that and one tablespoon of instant coffee. Both are awesome!

The BEST Cocoa Brownies EVER

adapted from cacaoweb

3/4 c. canola oil (or 1/4 c. melted butter and 1/2 c. oil)

3/4 c. all purpose flour

3 eggs

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. cocoa (please see alternatives above)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

blend sugar, oil and eggs until light, add dry ingredients and mix thoroughly

pour into a greased baking dish (I used a 9 X 11 pan) and bake for 20-25 minutes at 350

– if you like a fudgy brownie, removed from the oven when a knife inserted at the very center still comes out a little streaked (20-25 minutes)

– if you like a more cake like brownie…make a cake!

Just kidding…

just bake these guys for about 30-35 minutes and they will sponge up and still be moist

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

