Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love my Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies, they are the best.They are a little bit of everything…oatmeal, peanut butter, coconut…I guess you really shouldn’t even classify them as a simple chocolate chip cookie.

Sometimes you just want a chocolate chip cookie….you know, the fat, golden ones that are the slightest bit crunchy as you sink your teeth into them, into that buttery, chewy middle. Excuse me while I shudder…..

I saw a recipe for Best Big Fat Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. I felt my tummy quiver when I thought about the idea...Big…Fat…Chewy…mmmm…..

Then my good side of me infiltrated the dark side. This was my fatal error. Oh, don’t get me wrong…these were still buttery, sweet, totally yummy, but I let the good girl add whole wheat pastry flour to these guys. Totally changed the texture. While they still had a nice chew to them, thanks to the brown sugar, that blasted wheat flour made them fluffier than any cookie with any amount of self respect should be.

Sigh.

Well, they were still pretty, and yummy. Next time my evil twin wants cookies, however, I will lock up the wheat pastry flour before she gets started!

This is the original recipe…the one I will totally go by next time….

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies


from Fake Ginger

  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 c packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 c semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. amanda @ fake ginger Says:

    You HAVE to make them again the real way! They’re so good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

